6 years ago

Gauteng Business 2016 edition

  • Text
  • Manufacturing
  • Mining
  • Development
  • Investment
  • Business
  • Network
  • Gauteng
  • Economic
  • Province
  • Provincial
  • Infrastructure
  • Economy
  • Automotive
  • Sector
  • African
  • Johannesburg
The 2016 edition of the Gauteng Business and Investment Guide is the premier business and investment guide for the Gauteng province and the Gauteng Growth and Development Agency (GGDA). In addition to detailed profiles of key provincial organisations, including the GGDA, the Automotive Industry Development Corporation Centre (AIDC), the Gauteng Investment Centre, the Gauteng IDZ, the Gauteng ICT Park SEZ and Constitution Hill, this edition includes well-researched economic and demographic data on the province, as well as insights into the province’s five development corridors and the new industries and development nodes in these corridors; a focus on Gauteng as a global city region; and key growth sectors for the province.


SPECIAL FEATURE Metropolitan and District Municipalities Renamed after the first democratic election in 1994, Gauteng (the name means gold in English) is one of nine provinces in South Africa. Gauteng was formed from part of the old Transvaal Province following South Africa’s first all-race elections, blossoming into rich democracy thereafter. City of Tshwane Gauteng is governed by the Gauteng Provincial Legislature, a 73-person unicameral legislature elected by party-list proportional representation. The provincial government is responsible for the topics allocated to it in the national constitution, including such fields as basic education, health, housing, social services, agriculture and environmental protection. Gauteng contains three metropolitan municipalities (City of Johannesburg, City of Tshwane and Ekurhuleni) and two district munici palities (Sedibeng and West Rand). A further seven local municipalities – Emfuleni, Lesedi, Midvaal, Mogale City, Randfontein, Westonaria and Merafong City – fall within the jurisdiction of the two district municipalities. The metropolitan area of Tshwane boasts a total population of 2.9-million and a combined budget of R24.9-billion for the 2012/13 financial year. In 2011, the Metsweding District Municipality was added to the City of Tshwane metropolitan area. The services sector, which is dominated by government services, is the largest economic sector in the City of Tshwane, followed by the finance, manufacturing and trade sectors, respectively. One of three of South Africa’s capital cities, Pretoria, is located in the City of Tshwane. Interestingly, every foreign country is represented by an embassy in Pretoria. Tshwane contributes approximately 27 percent to provincial GDP in Gauteng, and 9 percent to national output. City of Johannesburg The City of Johannesburg is one of the 50 largest metropolitan areas in the world. Johannesburg’s total GDP amounted to US- billion (PPP adjusted) in 2011, GAUTENG BUSINESS 2016 22

SPECIAL FEATURE and the metropolitan area’s combined 2012/13 budget totalled R37-billion. Approximately 3.9-million individuals reside in Johannesburg, and the city’s population is growing at an annual rate of 1.3 percent. A recent drive to invigorate the inner city has resulted in major development. The City of Johannesburg is the capital of the Gauteng province, and the headquarters of the metropolitan municipality are located in Braamfontein. Johannesburg was initially established as a result of the gold rush in the 19th century, but has evolved into a city in which the financial services industry dominates business activity. Today, Johannesburg is regarded as the financial capital of South Africa due to the high number of financial institutions located within the city. The JSE, Africa’s largest stock exchange, is situated in the heart of Johannesburg’s business district, Sandton. Aside from the financial services industry, other key sectors of the Johannesburg economy include trade, manufacturing, advertising and information technology. South Africa’s Constitutional Court is also located in Braamfontein, Johannesburg. West Rand District Municipality The Randfontein local municipality is located adjacent to the North West province and represents a major entry point for immigration into Gauteng. Perhaps as a result, the local municipality is renowned for having high levels of unemployment and poverty, which could also be an opportunity for businesses in terms of available manpower. The population of the Randfontein local municipality is estimated at 150 000 people. The Westonaria local municipality has a total population of 112 000. Approximately 25 000 people are employed in Westonaria, with the majority of those employed in the mining sector. As a means to boost economic activity within the municipal area, the local municipality is looking at creating new industries, research centres and tourism hotspots. Randfontein is the administrative centre of the West Rand district municipality. Approximately 820 000 individuals reside in the district, 23 GAUTENG BUSINESS 2016

Other recent publications by Global Africa Network: