5 years ago

South African Business 2019 edition

  • Text
  • Infrastructure
  • Africa
  • Banking
  • Engineering
  • Construction
  • Trade
  • Economy
  • Zones
  • Energy
  • Investment
  • Invest
  • Business
  • Africa
  • African
  • Sector
  • Economic
  • Industrial
  • Mining
  • Logistics
  • Projects
The 2019 edition of South African Business is the seventh edition of this annual guide to business and investment in South Africa. Regular pages cover all the main economic sectors of the South African economy and give a snapshot of each of the country’s provincial economies. Feature articles on topical issues such as Special Economic Zones and African trade provide unique insights, together with comprehensive overviews of critical economic sectors. Other special features focus on the exciting new possibilities in renewable energy, airports as engines of regional growth and the maritime sector as an entirely new prospect for South African entrepreneurs and businesses. South African Business is complemented by nine regional publications covering the business and investment environment in each of South Africa’s provinces. The e-book editions can be viewed at

Limpopo Capital:

Limpopo Capital: Polokwane Main towns: Musina, Ba-Phalabora, Bela-Bela, Steelpoort, Tzaneen, Thohoyandou. Population: 5 726 800 (2015) Area: 125 755km² (10.2% of South Africa) Premier: Chupu Stanley Mathabatha (ANC) Key sectors: Mining, agriculture, tourism, logistics. Infrastructure: Musina-Makhado Special Economic Zone, Tubatse Special Economic Zone, N1 highway and rail network, new Medupi power station. Notable tourism assets: Kruger National Park, Mapungubwe Heritage Site, Makapans Valley, Marula Festival, Waterberg Biosphere. Provincial government website: Limpopo Economic Development Agency: Mpumalanga Capital: Mbombela Main towns: Emalahleni, Middelburg, Sabie, Lydenburg Population: 4 283 900 (2015) Area: 76 495km² (6.3% of South Africa) Premier: Refilwe Mtshweni (ANC) Key sectors: Agriculture, forestry, mining, steel manufacturing, petrochemicals, pulp and paper, power generation, tourism. Infrastructure: Nkomazi Special Economic Zone, Mbombela International Fresh Produce Market, Maputo Development Corridor, Kruger Mpumalanga International Airport. Notable tourism assets: Kruger National Park, Blyde River Canyon, the Barberton Makhonjwa Mountains (a UNESCO World Heritage Site). Provincial government website: Mpumalanga Economic Growth Agency: Northern Cape Capital: Kimberley Main towns: Douglas, Upington, De Aar, Port Nolloth, Colesberg. Population: 1 185 600 (2015) Area: 372 889km² (30.5% of South Africa) Premier: Sylvia Lucas (ANC) Key sectors: Agriculture, mining, renewable energy, astronomy. Infrastructure: Upington Special Economic Zone, Sol Plaatje University, Vaalharts Irrigation Scheme. Notable tourism assets: Six national parks including the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park, Orange River, spring flower displays, diamond routes. Provincial government website: Department of Economic Development and Tourism:

North West Capital: Mahikeng Main towns: Klerksdorp, Rustenburg, Brits, Potchefstroom Population: 3 707 000 (2015) Area: 104 882km² (8.6% of South Africa) Premier: Professor Job Mokgoro (ANC) Key sectors: Mining, agriculture, agri-processing, automotive components. Infrastructure: Hartbeespoort Dam, Pelindaba nuclear research unit, North West University, Bakwena Platinum Highway. Notable tourism assets: Sun City, Mmbatho Palms Hotel Casino Convention Resort, Pilanesberg National Park, 18 luxury lodges in Madikwe Game Reserve. Provincial government website: North West Development Corporation: Western Cape Capital: Cape Town Main towns: Stellenbosch, George, Plettenberg Bay, Beaufort West, Oudtshoorn, Worcester, Malmesbury. Population: 6 200 100 (2015) Area: 129 462km² (10.6% of South Africa) Premier: Helen Zille (DA) Key sectors: Agriculture, agri-processing, wine and grapes, financial services, manufacturing, tourism, oil and gas, boatbuilding. Infrastructure: Ports of Cape Town, Saldanha and Mossel Bay, Mossgas oil-to-gas refinery, Cape Town International Airport, Cape Town International Convention Centre, Koeberg nuclear power station. Notable tourism assets: Table Mountain, Garden Route National Park, Karoo National Park, West Coast National Park, Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens, Cape Point, the Waterfront, Plettenberg Bay, Route 62, Zeitz Museum of Contemporary Art. Provincial government website: Wesgro:

Copied successfully!

Other recent publications by Global Africa Network: