2 years ago

South African Business 2021

  • Text
  • Engineering
  • Construction
  • Transportation
  • Invest
  • Provincial
  • Maritime
  • Investment
  • Business
  • Government
  • Africa
  • Africa
  • Logistics
  • Programme
  • Economy
  • Mining
  • Manufacturing
  • Cape
  • Infrastructure
  • Sector
  • Economic
Welcome to the ninth edition of the South African Business journal. First published in 2011, the publication has established itself as the premier business and investment guide to South Africa. This issue has a focus on economic recovery plans which have been put in place to tackle the challenges thrown up by the global Covid-19 pandemic. National government’s focus on infrastructure and the use of Special Economic Zones is highlighted, together with a feature on the nascent maritime economy. Regular pages cover all the main economic sectors of the South African economy and give a snapshot of each of the country’s provincial economies. South African Business is complemented by nine regional publications covering the business and investment environment in each of South Africa’s provinces. The e-book editions can be viewed online at


SPECIAL FEATURE Provinces of South Africa A snapshot of South Africa’s nine provinces. Eastern Cape Capital: Bhisho Main towns: Port Elizabeth, East London, Uitenhage, Graaff- Reinet, Mthatha, Grahamstown (Makhanda) Population: 6 916 200 (2015) Area: 168 966km² (13.8% of South Africa) Premier: Lubabalo Oscar Mabuyane (ANC) Key sectors: Automotive, agriculture, agri-processing, forestry, finance, retail, tourism, renewable energy. Infrastructure: Coega Industrial Development Zone, East London Industrial Development Zone, ports of East London, Port Elizabeth and Ngqura, airports at Port Elizabeth and East London. Notable tourism assets: Addo Elephant National Park, Mountain Zebra National Park, Wild Coast, Jeffreys Bay, National Arts Festival. Provincial government website: Eastern Cape Development Corporation: Free State Capital: Bloemfontein Main towns: Welkom, Sasolburg, Parys, Kroonstad Population: 2 817 900 (2015) Area: 129 825km² (10.6% of South Africa) Premier: Sefora Hixsonia Ntombela (ANC) Key sectors: Agriculture, agri-processing, chemical manufacturing, mining, transport and logistics. Infrastructure: Maluti-A-Phofung Special Economic Zone, Bram Fischer International Airport, University of the Free State, Central University of Technology, N8 Corridor. Notable tourism assets: Vaal River, Gariep Dam, Golden Gate Highlands National Park, Cherry Festival, Mangaung African Cultural Festival (Macufe). Provincial government website: Free State Development Corporation: Gauteng Capital: Johannesburg Main towns: Tshwane (including Pretoria), Ekurhuleni, Vanderbijlpark, Roodepoort Population: 13 200 300 (2015) Area: 18 178km² (1.5% of South Africa) Premier: David Makhura (ANC) Key sectors: Financial and banking, manufacturing, trade, creative industries, media. Infrastructure: OR Tambo International Airport, Gautrain, major universities and research institutions, large convention centres, FNB Stadium (Soccer City). Notable tourism assets: Cradle of Humankind, Apartheid Museum, Constitution Hill, Magaliesberg, Soweto tours, Dinokeng. Provincial government website: Gauteng Growth and Development Agency: SOUTH AFRICAN BUSINESS 2021 2020 16 20

SPECIAL SPECIAL FEATURE KwaZulu-Natal Capital: Pietermaritzburg Main towns: Durban, Newcastle, Ballito, Port Shepstone, Empangeni, Ulundi Population: 10 919 100 (2015) Area: 125 755km² (7.7% of South Africa) Premier: Sihle Zikalala (ANC) Key sectors: Chemicals, dissolving pulp manufacture, sugar, forestry, automotive, textiles and footwear, mining, oil and gas, logistics. Infrastructure: King Shaka International Airport, Dube TradePort, Richards Bay Industrial Development Zone, ports of Richards Bay and Durban, Albert Luthuli International Convention Centre Complex. Notable tourism assets: HluhluweiMfolozi Park, the Drakensberg mountains, iSimangilso Wetlands Park, Durban beaches, South Coast, Zulu cultural heritage, historical battlefields. Provincial government website: Trade and Investment KwaZulu- Natal: Limpopo Capital: Polokwane Main towns: Musina, Ba-Phalabora, Bela-Bela, Steelpoort, Tzaneen, Thohoyandou Population: 5 726 800 (2015) Area: 125 755km² (10.2% of South Africa) Premier: Chupu Stanley Mathabatha (ANC) Key sectors: Mining, agriculture, tourism, logistics. Infrastructure: Musina-Makhado Special Economic Zone, N1 highway and rail network, new Medupi power station. Notable tourism assets: Kruger National Park, Mapungubwe Heritage Site, Makapans Valley, Marula Festival, Waterberg Biosphere. Provincial government website: Limpopo Economic Development Agency: Mpumalanga Capital: Mbombela Main towns: Emalahleni, Middelburg, Sabie, Lydenburg Population: 4 283 900 (2015) Area: 76 495km² (6.3% of South Africa) Premier: Refilwe Mtshweni-Tsipane (ANC) Key sectors: Agriculture, forestry, mining, steel manufacturing, petrochemicals, pulp and paper, power generation, tourism. Infrastructure: Nkomazi Special Economic Zone, Mbombela International Fresh Produce Market, Maputo Development Corridor, Kruger Mpumalanga International Airport. Notable tourism assets: Kruger National Park, Blyde River Canyon, Barberton Makhonjwa Mountains (a UNESCO World Heritage Site). Provincial government website: Mpumalanga Economic Growth Agency: 17 SOUTH AFRICAN BUSINESS 2021 SOUTH AFRICAN BUSINESS 2020 21

Other recent publications by Global Africa Network: